CEMS Giving

Strategic Initiatives

Please consider making a gift in support of the following Strategic Initiatives funds, or to learn about additional giving opportunities, please contact Courtney Billing.

Aris Endowment Fund

The Aris Endowment Fund supports the Aris Lecture Series which began in 1964 to support a continuing lecture series for faculty, graduate students and undergraduate students focusing on the common bond between science and the arts. The series arose from the scholarship of Professor Rutherford Aris, who was interested in both chemical engineering and paleography. Since inception funds have grown exponentially, creating additional funds which support graduate student fellowships in Professor Aris's name.


Arnie Fredrickson Symposium Fund

This fund was established in 2001 to honor Professor Emeritus Arnold (Arnie) Fredrickson upon his retirement and foster broader intellectual interaction between undergraduate and graduate students in the department. CEMS alumni and other friends of the department are encouraged to support this fund.


Chemical Engineering and Materials Science Fund for Excellence

The CEMS Fund for Excellence provides the flexible support the department needs to continuously and dynamically improve its teaching, research, and operations by helping it attract, retain, and support excellent students and faculty and build a spirit of cooperative innovation among CEMS faculty, staff, and students. Funds are used for the betterment of the department at the discretion of its Head.


Coating Process Research Fund

The Coating Process Research Fund was established by the Nito Denko Corporation to support research in coating process fundamentals, especially capabilities of scientific visualization on microscales and nanoscales.


Phyllis B. Branin Excellence in Service Award

Phyllis B. Branin (BChE 1947) directed that an Endowment she established in 1999 be used to recognize an outstanding member of the professional staff who demonstrates an exceptional interest, commitment, and ability to meet performance objectives while setting an example of excellence in service for others.

Current Recipients:
  • Dan McDonald
  • Devin Pacheco
  • Julie Prince
  • Dak Aldrich

Contact Information

Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

421 Washington Ave. SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455-0132

P: 612-625-1313 | F: 612-626-7246

Contact Us

Connect on Social Media

© Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement