Bates and Leighton receive prestigious 2014 Cozzarelli Prize

Feb. 27, 2015 - Regents Professor Frank S. Bates and Distinguished McKnight University Professor Chris Leighton, along with Sangwoo Lee, a former post-doctoral fellow and doctoral student in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science at the University of Minnesota, have been awarded a 2014 Cozzarelli Prize from the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS) in Engineering and Applied Sciences.

The Cozzarelli Prize, established in 2005 and named in 2007 to honor late PNAS Editor-in-Chief Nicholas R. Cozzarelli, recognizes six recently published PNAS papers of outstanding scientific excellence and originality each year. Papers selected were chosen from more than 3,500 research articles that appeared in the journal last year.

Their research, "Sphericity and symmetry breaking in the formation of Frank-Kasper phases from one component materials" deals with the structures that form when long chain molecules known as block polymers assemble into nearly spherical nanoscale particles that organize into a variety of three-dimensional patterns, typically in highly symmetric ways. The award will be formally recognized at the PNAS Editorial Board Meeting and the National Academy of Sciences Awards Ceremony on April 26, 2015 in Washington DC.

Related Link:

Contact Information

Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

421 Washington Ave. SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455-0132

P: 612-625-1313 | F: 612-626-7246

Contact Us

Connect on Social Media

© Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement