Kacey Gregerson wins John Tate Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising

Feb. 6, 2021 - Kacey Gregerson, Senior Academic Advisor in CEMS, is among four recipients of the 2020-2021 John Tate Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising. Other awardees include Barbara Goodwin (CLA, UMTC), Professor Victor Lai (SCSE, UMD), and Jenna Parks (CBS, UMTC). The winners will receive monetary awards and be recognized at a virtual awards ceremony on March 4, 2021.

University staff and faculty who actively participate in academic advising and/or career development of undergraduates are eligible for this award, so the process is prestigious and competitive. Nominees must demonstrate excellence in the Core Advising Skills and Methods, including, but not limited to, being an ally, advocate and cultural navigator, building relationships, and integrating new awareness and ideas into advising practices.

The John Tate Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising is named in honor of John Tate, Professor of Physics and first Dean of University College (1930-41). The Tate Award serves to recognize and reward high-quality advising at the University of Minnesota. It calls attention to the contributions that academic advising and career services make in helping students formulate and achieve their intellectual, career, and personal goals. By recognizing professionals for their outstanding commitment to students, the Tate Award celebrates the role that academic advising and career services play in the University’s educational mission.

Related Link:

Contact Information

Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

421 Washington Ave. SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455-0132

P: 612-625-1313 | F: 612-626-7246

Contact Us

Connect on Social Media

© Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement