Leighton wins Tate Award

Feb. 19, 2015 - Chris Leighton, Distinguished McKnight University Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies in Materials Science and Engineering, is among four recipients of the 2014-15 John Tate Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising. This University-wide program seeks to reward high-quality advising and recognize the contributions that academic advising and career services make in helping students formulate and achieve their intellectual, career, and personal goals. The award is named in honor of John Tate, Professor of Physics and first Dean of University College (1930-41).

This year's other winners include: Jess Larson (Studio Arts/Humanities, UMN-Morris), Becky Mooney (College of Liberal Arts, UMTC), and Les Opatz (College of Liberal Arts, UMTC). All recipients will receive monetary awards and be honored at an upcoming luncheon.

Related Link:

Contact Information

Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

421 Washington Ave. SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455-0132

P: 612-625-1313 | F: 612-626-7246

Contact Us

Connect on Social Media

© Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement