McCormick and Siepmann named AIChE Fellows

May 30, 2019 - CEMS Professor Alon McCormick and J. Ilja Siepmann, a CEMS graduate faculty member, Distinguished McKnight University Professor, and Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Department of Chemistry, have been named Fellows of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), which is the highest grade of membership and achieved only through election by the Board of Directors. Candidates for AIChE Fellow are nominated by their peers and must have significant chemical engineering experience (generally 25 years), must have demonstrated significant service to the profession, and must have been a member of AIChE for at least 10 years.

McCormick has published nearly 200 papers about the mechanisms and kinetics of nano- and micro-structural processes in materials and fluid systems. He has served as Director of Chemical Engineering Undergraduate Studies and has chaired or served on university-wide committees devoted to education policy and research resources. In AIChE, Alon has served on all three operating councils; has initiated diversity, inclusion, and LGBTQ+ and Allies activities; and has been active in meeting programming and the Materials Engineering and Sciences Div.

Siepmann's research focuses on particle-based simulations of complex chemical systems, and his work has advanced the capabilities of molecular simulations through the development of efficient Monte Carlo algorithms and transferable force fields. He is also the Director of the DOE-funded Nanoporous Materials Genome Center and an Associate Editor for the Journal of Chemical and Engineering Data.

Related Link:

Contact Information

Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

421 Washington Ave. SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455-0132

P: 612-625-1313 | F: 612-626-7246

Contact Us

Connect on Social Media

© Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement