DeJong named 2019 Astronaut Scholar

June 24, 2019 - Matthew DeJong, a senior majoring in chemical engineering, is one of two students from the University of Minnesota to be named a 2019 Astronaut Scholar. DeJong has been performing research in the Hackel lab to develop systems for efficient evolution of antimicrobial proteins and has applied this technology to engineer protein variants with improved potency against select bacteria. He was also recently named a 2019 Goldwater Scholar. Macy Vollbrecht, an undergraduate majoring in genetics and cell biology, is the other UMN recipient.

This year, the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation (ASF) has awarded 52 scholarships to students from 38 different universities across the nation. Astronaut Scholarships are awarded to students in their junior and senior year of college studying science, technology, engineering, or mathematics with the intent to pursue research or advance their field upon completion of their final degree. Astronaut Scholars are among the best and brightest minds in STEM who show initiative, creativity, and excellence in their chosen field.

Related Link:

Contact Information

Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

421 Washington Ave. SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455-0132

P: 612-625-1313 | F: 612-626-7246

Contact Us

Connect on Social Media

© Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement