PhD Candidates awarded Doctoral Dissertation Fellowships

May 2, 2019 - Six CEMS graduate students were awarded Doctoral Dissertation Fellowships (DDF) for academic year 2019-2020 in a University-wide competition sponsored by the University of Minnesota Graduate School. CEMS recipients include: GK Cheong (ChE), Hak Rae Lee (ChE), Jacob Miller (ChE), Matthew Palys (ChE), Ian Slauch (ChE), and Bryan Voigt (MSE). The DDF program provides the University's most accomplished Ph.D. candidates with an opportunity to devote full-time effort to dissertation research and writing in the fellowship year. The award includes a stipend of $25,000 and tuition and health insurance benefits. With supplemental funds provided by the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, the total level of support for each recipient reaches $35,000. The Fellowship also includes a $1,000 Conference Presentation Grant for Fellows who have been accepted to present their dissertation research at a conference.

Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship award winners are pictured (back row, left to right): Ian Slauch, Bryan Voigt, Hak Rae Lee, and (front row, left to right): GK Cheong and Jake Miller. Not pictured: Matt Palys.

Related Link:

Contact Information

Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

421 Washington Ave. SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455-0132

P: 612-625-1313 | F: 612-626-7246

Contact Us

Connect on Social Media

© Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement